New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know deep down I just need to ask the guy but.....
My local club has a pistol league and this is my first year. Another guys first year too but also does it with his son, id say 14 15 tops. HOW. Legally how can this person shoot in the league. By all means good for him and i'd love for my son to participate but. Its my understanding unless with a certified nra instructor they cannot shoot per NY. Now maybe the club does not care but I think they would as their butt on the line. Am I missing something?

Father Not an nra instructor nor do I believe are our range officers..... do they just not worry about it or is this club sticking its neck out if say someone ratted them out........

Maybe I am missing something but Im not against the kid shooting, heck kudos to him but my quandery is Id like mine to shoot too but I dont think he can per NYS........(mine is 15).

Just sorta wondering. I have to ask him but dont want to seem like im against it or even bring attention to it and get anyone in any trouble. Im just wondering how he can do it or if no one is really caring about NYS law, but again, I think the club would as its their butt.........

·
I wish I were an Oscar Meyer Weiner
6,795 Posts
here are the laws that apply.
This is found in the exemptions for article 265