New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the idea of owning a firearm and am in the market for a rifle and pistol for home protection and target practice. Are there any recommended rifles that might have one so called "evil" feature. I like the idea of the pistol grip and something that does not have tremendous kick, so that my wife can use it. I would like something with a rail system that you could add a light or scope. I will likely be going to a dealer soon, but want to do a little homework first. Thanks.

·
Registered
5,239 Posts
i would say start with a Ruger 1022, if you have no experience. a Mini14 is a nice 223/556 option, if you can shoot.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Ruger Mini-14 is an awesome gun.

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
I am new to the idea of owning a firearm and am in the market for a rifle and pistol for home protection and target practice. Are there any recommended rifles that might have one so called "evil" feature. I like the idea of the pistol grip and something that does not have tremendous kick, so that my wife can use it. I would like something with a rail system that you could add a light or scope. I will likely be going to a dealer soon, but want to do a little homework first. Thanks.
To me, when people ask what kind of gun to buy it means that they have no practical experience with firearms. I agree with DrgnFly. May I suggest that you take the NRA safety course and then join a club. In a short time you will have formed your own opininos as to what's best for you.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
That does sound like a good idea. Is the NRA website best for that or is that something where I need to go to my county office building? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
You can try and call