New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I sometimes have to stay in a hotel on business trips in upstate and NYC. I see residents can legally carry OC spray. I am a PA resident. Am I legally allowed to carry a knife with a less than 4 inch blade and a 4 c maglight? The last trip had some sketchy acting individuals in the hotel. Can I keep a baseball bat or walking stick in my vehicle and hotel?

·
Registered
245 Posts
You also mentioned oc spray. I take it you meant a personal protection pepper spray. They are illegal in some counties and controlled by % and volume. Mace is illegal except for police. A little known fact is that it can only lawfully be possessed in the county it was purchased in.

·
Super Moderator
3,251 Posts
You also mentioned oc spray. --- A little known fact is that it can only lawfully be possessed in the county it was purchased in.
Can you cite the penal code that you can only possess in the county it was purchased in? I have never heard of this nor have I found this with an internet search. Thanks

Reactions: Oldsig

·
Registered
245 Posts
Can you cite the penal code that you can only possess in the county it was purchased in? I have never heard of this nor have I found this with an internet search. Thanks
I’ll have to go back to the department of health site and find the exact reference.
The Pl does say:
(c) The department of health, with the cooperation of the division of criminal justice services and the superintendent of state police, shall develop standards and promulgate regulations regarding the type of self- defense spray device which may lawfully be purchased, possessed and used pursuant to this paragraph. The regulations shall include a requirement that every self-defense spray device which may be lawfully purchased, possessed or used pursuant to this paragraph have a label which states: