New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title says I think I finally made up my mind and I'm gonna put together my own fixed mag AR might be a little daring for a complete novice when it comes to ARs but I found a good how to from ITS tactical so Im gonna go for it. I plan on utilizing the T nut method I've seen on here. But back to the point Im gonna start buying the few tools I need, a LPK and a striped lower which brings me to the question I had anybody here know of any shops in the erie county region that still sells or will transfer a lower for me. And frankly any advice would be helpful and much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,219 Posts
If your ever in utica there's a company that sells lowers. I did the channel locks, hammer and punch method to put my lower together. If I had to do it again I would buy the roll pin punch set from midway or brownells. For the 20-30 bucks it's worth it for frustration and not marring the lower up. Hey live and learn though.

As far as the upper I was planning on building my own but the sales that were going on were too cheap to pass up. So I don't know your time frame for the build but if you can wait a few months for the upper I would hold out for Black Friday. Last year there were some awesome sales that I passed up on complete uppers, because I planned on building my own. If you can't tell I'm still kicking myself.

If you have any questions feel free to PM me or keep the the tread alive and by no means am I an expert.

·
Registered
5,168 Posts
It's extremely easy, you'll be fine. It is such an easy project that after it is finished, you'll be convinced it won't work until you shoot it for the first time.

·
Registered
2,531 Posts