New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started slowly building an AR-15 a few years ago. I finished it up last year and shot it a few times just to make sure it went bang.

I took it out for it's first real session over the weekend to sight in my Aimpoint, and realized that I have a problem. The trigger does not reset after any of the shots. I have to physically push it forward with my finger. I can hear everything click into place. After I do that it shoots fine. I can also switch it from FIRE to SAFE and hear everything go back into place as well.

Something isn't working right, but I have very little knowledge. I built the lower myself so I might have messed something up when I was putting it together. Can anyone give me some suggestions on where to start or should I just send the lower off to AllStar or someplace to make it right?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
Could be that the trigger is too wide for the lower receiver because one of them is out of spec. Could be that you used small pins in a large pin colt lower receiver.

What manufacturer's are the trigger and lower parts?

·
Registered
11,238 Posts
I also think the trigger could be out of spec so the bushing part could probably be shortened in width.
IT could also be a disconnect that drags on the sear part and there is not enough tension in the spring
to make it over the disconnect sear due to be over sized or a slight out of spec distance
between the trigger pin holes. I have seen both situations before.

Take the lower out and by holding the hammer before it hits the receiver test fire it open. Force the parts to mate
by inducing pressure on the hammer forward. A trigger can be tested very well when open and visually inspected as it works.
Just remember whatever happens when firing same thing could be tracked and debugged in slow motion with the
receiver open so you can see where it is holding up.