New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Just wanted to share my experience with the Town of Colonie since the ones I have read here was very helpful to me. I scheduled an appointment with Officer Messmer on March 23rd for myself and my wife. Prior to that, we took the pistol course. The appointment was hour long and included the both of us and started out very "matter of fact" and ended with a conversation you may have with someone over dinner. Officer Messmer is a serious man and takes his job seriously. He called me back anytime I left messages for him and answered all my questions. He was very through in his investigation. My wife and I are "model" citizens and have clean records. We had good references and even better neighbors) who we were told couldn't be our references). He interviewed our neighbors and our respective bosses at work. They of courses spoke highly of us. I have been hunting for 10 years and own long guns. Today, we got a letter from the Albany County Clerk that really surprised us. It said our application was approved and w could come an pick it up. That's only 3 months without an interview with the judge required. I am curious to see if there will be administrative restrictions. I will be completely shocked if that is not the case. I am fine with the restrictions since I ha no need at this time (nor the desire) to CC. Hang it for target, hunting and home is all we need. Going to stop by a gun store to see what's in stock. Otherwise, I will buy from an online shop and have it trasfered to a good FFL in the area that has reasonable transfer fees. Any recommendations on FFL's with good inventory, prices, service, or reasonable transfer fees?

·
Registered
388 Posts
As far as FFLs go, you will get about as many opinions as you will get for the question of 'what gun should I get' (I understand you didnt ask that, but you get the point).