New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, watching everyone around me make WAY more money than me and not knowing sh!t about really anything I'm now leaning towards the reserves. I can't afford to go back to school, college was a waste for me. I graduated on honor roll, but jobs are hard to come by with any sort of decent pay.

I'm looking into the Air Force reserves.
Anyone have any words of advice?

Either going to be an electrician or go for pavment and construstion equipment.

although EOD looks fun :) I want to choose a career for the rest of my life I can deal with. I don't like showing up to the same place every day and dealing with the same people.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
12,953 Posts
Don't really know much about it but I've heard the Navy has a great program of electricians. I would think Army would be better for heavy equipment but again really don't know and not sure how much they will offer for part-time. A good friend did 8 years full time in the Air Force and loved it, but he was working on jets (fuel systems). I'm pretty sure you'll have to do Basic training for all of the programs full time, and will probably have to do any advanced schools full time as well. Best bet is to talk with a recruiter and see what they have to offer. Best of luck whatever you decide to do.

·
Registered
208 Posts
I was a Naval Reservist. When I went in, and it could be the same now, Boot Camp was only 2 weeks at Great Lakes. I was in my late 20's when I joined and because of "life experience" I went in as an E-4 (Petty Officer 3rd Class) rather than a Seaman Recruit.

1 weekend a month and 2 weeks a year. Was able to keep my job and still serve. It was a great experience.