New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I'm extremely new here and also to shooting in general, and I have a quick question about whether or not I can buy a rifle here in NY state. I am technically a MA resident (thats where my driver's license was issued) but I reside in NY state, specifically Syracuse, where I am a student and rent an apartment (my name is on the lease). To make a long story short, my roommate and good friend is licensed in MA to own rifles and shotguns and plans on joining a club here in Syracuse to shoot during the summer. I just submitted the paperwork to get my MA FID card as well about a week ago. However, this process could take a couple months and I was wondering if I could just buy a rifle in NY state without the MA FID card since i am currently living in the state. I have no intention of bringing it back to MA for the next two years at least, which is more than enough time for the paperwork for my FID card to go through. Thanks in advance for the help, it is much appreciated.

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
Tough one.

Federal law says that a non-resident can buy a long gun from a dealer in NY state as long as the gun is legal in both NY and your state of residence.

Although the gun may be legal in MA, it's not legal for you to own in MA without a MA FID card. Not sure if that makes it OK or not OK to buy here. You're going to have a tough time finding a dealer that will sell to you even if it's legal to do so.

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
not the answer that you wanna hear , but legal firearms answers tend to be that way

title 129 b and c would answer this easily for you