New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
took me 9 long months.

and my first trainer pistol: phoenix arms .22LR. yes, its cheap. yes, it's pot metal. yes, i'm a poor student. so there you go.

time to train!

· Registered
274 Posts
Congratulations! I'm still waiting for mine after 6 months. At least you can afford to shoot a lot with a .22.

· Postmaster General
23,190 Posts
I'll take ANY pistol over none. xD Welcome to the club. :)

· Postmaster General
23,190 Posts
When people in NY say pistol permit are they reffering to a permit just to own or buy the gun or is to to carry?
You need a permit to own, but the vast majority of NY permits are Concealed Carry. Rarely do people get "premises" or "Possess for employment" permits and those are the only 3 that exist.

· Banned
105 Posts
You need a permit to own, but the vast majority of NY permits are Concealed Carry. Rarely do people get "premises" or "Possess for employment" permits and those are the only 3 that exist.
So you have to ask the gov of NY ( and probably pay a fee) to own a pistol then go through the normal background check when you buy it?

HOw does it take to get the one to own it and what kind of hoops are they. Man I think delaware gun laws suck until I hear some other states.

· Postmaster General
23,190 Posts

· Postmaster General
23,190 Posts
Are most restricted carry? What the source of the stats?
No such thing. Only 3 types exist. Concealed carry, Premises, and Possess for employment. Some counties write administrative restrictions on them, but that does not change the status of the permit being a Concealed Carry permit. People don't get premises because then you cannot take them to the range and most people don't need them for employment.

· Registered
1,188 Posts
I learned how to shoot pistol on a Pheonix Arms 22. Wonderful little gun... with a heck of alot of safteys.

Congratulations.

· Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·