New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently gotten my restricted concealed carry permit and I am looking to purchase my first pistol. I have no prior experience and I don't have anyone to turn to for advice. I have decided that I want to start off small with a 9mm. I recently went to a gun shop and picked up a few guns to see how they felt in my hand. So far my top three in the following order are as stated in the title of this post. My basis for this is that the S&W feels the best in my hand. My hand is able to completely wrap around the grip whereas the other 2 were a bit shorter. I am not sure if this is something that I would get used to or if I should just stick with my gut instinct. I hear and read alot of good things about the glock. If there are other models you think might be better please recommend them. Any help for a newbie is much appreciated.

·
Registered
334 Posts
Hello there fellow Fultonian ! I myself have a Glock 17 and stubby-breakfast-sausage fingers, so my question is this: Was the Glock that you tried a gen 4 ? The previous generations had a "medium" grip and the gen 4 starts out at "small" and made a big difference for me. Unfortunately I can't say anything for the other 2 but my Glock shoots like a champ :D

·
Registered
4,104 Posts