New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
dudes, another quick question. I want to carry a smaller pistol I'll be getting in the near future, in the small-of-the-back location. my plan is to have it canted to the strong side (I'm a righty). what type of holster do you guys think might be best for that? i.e., on the belt, a clip on, inside the waist band, outside the waistband, etc.?

I have zero experience with this carry area and type, since my pistol is a large frame .40 S&W, and I carry it in an exterior holster at the range only. In other words, concealment is a stranger to me. :)

thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
I'd recommend trying the traditional strong-side behind the hip position (3:30 to 5:00 oclock if right handed), or appendix carry (12:00 to 2:30 oclock) before going with small of back. I think you may find its not that hard to conceal a compact or subcompact in either of these places, both of which are safer and easier to draw from.

That said, I don't have experience with SOB carry, but High Noon makes some holsters specifically designed for that position, and all of their products are excellent and guaranteed for life.

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd recommend trying the traditional strong-side behind the hip position (3:30 to 5:00 oclock if right handed), or appendix carry (12:00 to 2:30 oclock) before going with small of back. I think you may find its not that hard to conceal a compact or subcompact in either of these places, both of which are safer and easier to draw from.

That said, I don't have experience with SOB carry, but High Noon makes some holsters specifically designed for that position, and all of their products are excellent and guaranteed for life.
good points. Perhaps I can experiment with the positions somehow. maybe use my wife's Ruger SR9c holster or something. thanks for the input!

·
Registered
229 Posts