New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an RRA Operator and i want to change out the rail to lighten it up as much as possible. I'm leaning toward a TROY ALPHA RAIL, my questions are...

- Can i put on the 7.2" rail and keep my current RRA gas block/flip up front sight?
- if i go with the 9" rail, what LO PRO GAS BLOCK would you go with?
- will i be able to rail mount a new flip up front sight? what would you recommend? will my accuracy be affected?

My RRA Operator is dead on accurate as it is now(original factory setup) but its heavy as hell. i have zero experience customizing AR's but have customized shotguns and AK's.
that being said id like to get a heads up on what potential troubles i may run into before i buy parts. any experienced advise would be GREATLY APPRECIATED. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
Having done this for a few customers, you won't save enough weight to make it worthwhile. All the extra weight is coming from the overly large Dia barrel.

RRA does make another free float tube that is lighter than the one that comes on it, that would be the easiest way to remove some weight, but it will not put much of a dent in how front heavy it is.

·
Registered
12,953 Posts
Wouldn't front heavy be a good thing on an AR (i.e. counteracts muzzel rise and assists staying on target for follow-up shots)?

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #5