New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this. I am looking to buy a cheap reloading kit for my .40. Any ideas or links in what I need or what everything I need is going to cost. Thanks for your help in advance.

· Registered
2,222 Posts
he said cheap :) for a first press to learn on :

Pro 1000 Progressive Press Kit 40 S&W

I love mine, zero problems ever and I know Jeff has a number of them. you can go even cheaper if you want a turrent or single stage press from Lee.

Keep in mind you'll need a few things like a scale, calipers, etc. My first suggestion is getting your hands on a few books.

The ABCs of reloading doesn't have recipes but does a good job of giving you a solid reloading overview and going over the safety aspects.
Hornady, Lyman and Speer all have manuals with tons of recipes in them along with reloading basics.

· Registered
2,689 Posts
I have to chime in here with my experience. I got the Lee Pro 1000 as my first press (after seeing Tim's and liking it), and had nothing but problems. I sent it back after about a week of messing with it, and exchanged it for a Lee Classic Turret, and I've been extremely happy since.

The other thing to keep in mind is the Pro 1000 will only allow you to reload pistol calibers. If you think you might load rifle at some point, you'd be buying another press. That's fine, but if you'd rather have one press that can do both, go with a turret or a single stage. I can load about 150 rounds per hour if I push myself, I could up that to 200 if I got their priming system.