New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys
I have been reloading for about 35 years and I have reloaded shotgun, pistol and rifle rounds. I have used a single stage press as well as a progressive but first I want to talk about the Lee loader.
The lee loader is a hand tool to reload almost any caliber from shotshells and pistols to rifles as big as 45-70. Here is Lee's site:
Lee Loader Pistol - Lee Precision
It should take you about 1/2 hour to reload 20 rounds with the Lee loader. The bad with the Lee tool is there is a lot of hammering and noise but my wife has never complained so it must not be that bad or she is one in a million.

Here is a youtube video that shows how ez this tool is:
Lee classic loader - YouTube

My buddy that taught me purposely put a primer in wrong so it would fire to show me it wasn't going to kill me. If you have ever taken a whole roll of caps and hit it with a hammer it is about the same.
I started reloading for the 30-30 and at the time I owned no 30-30 but my buddy was letting me borrow his. My cousin built me a small table (about 2x3 feet) and I had a small corner area in the bedroom to reload ,I have used this table for all my reloading since and it has been very usable as long as I keep it clean after each reloading job.
The Lee tool resizes just the neck of your rifle cases and that is good and bad at the same time, the bad is you should only use these reloads in the same rifle they were first fired in, the good is neck-sized reloads should be more accurate than full length sized reloads and when only the neck is being resized the brass cases last for many more times being reloaded.
Get a good reloading book, I have about 15 books and still need to search the net for different loads, overalllengths (OAL) and other tidbits of info, here is my new favorite book:
Reloading and Shooting Supplies, Tools and Equipment | Midsouth Shooters Supply