New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to AR building and I'm now starting on my second rifle. I have two different lowers on hand to choose from. Either a RRA or a PSA. Either would be fine, but what I'm looking for is an opinion on the upper assemblies. I'm going with either a 14.7 or 16 for barrel length. The prices between Del-Ton and PSA are roughly the same for the profile I'm looking at. I have seen both brands as an assembled rifle but never shot either. I'm looking for a rifle that I can make as my secondary for training as well as a rifle for my wife since I already have another AR that I prefer to keep the round count down on. I was hoping to stay in the $500 range for the upper alone. Any suggestion or thing I should know about either of the brands?

·
Banned
5,970 Posts
I have a Del Ton HBAR upper, shoots very well, very well made, no issues at all. My firend has the M4 Del Ton upper, same can be said for his. I have a PSA lower, better fit and finish than my Rguns lower. Next build will more than , likely be all PSA because of the price.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the heads up Evild. I was just on PSA's website and it looks like it's going to a little cheaper with them because of free shipping. I'm also a little torn about where to spend the extra for the HF barrel instead of just the CMV.

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
Have seen quite a bit of PSA stuff and it's pretty decent. Del-Ton is budget level crap.

·
Banned
1,261 Posts
I see PSA must be getting short on Bolt Carrier Groups,as most uppers dont come with one now!But I have a PSA upper and like it alot,for the price I would buy another...

·
Registered
112 Posts
I got this one last week and I'm just waiting for it to be assembled and shipped PSA 16" Mid-length, Light profile, MP Upper - 16" - Barreled Upper Assemblies - AR-15. I have shot these before and they are flat out amazing.