New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I'm a programmer by trade and thought it would be a pretty cool idea to create a website that would allow people to submit their NY Pistol Permit Wait Times. This info is averaged and can help those (like myself) who are in limbo waiting and waiting for their permit.

Please take a minute and share your experience. I made sure to make the site user friendly and took the utmost care in keeping the info submitted 100% confidential.

The site is PistolPermitWaitTime.com

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
I submitted. Hopefully this will take off.

·
Registered
7,700 Posts
So many variables, for instance; it took me 5 months to get mine but one of my sons had his in 17 days and the other son's was just over 3 weeks. A new Judge came into play, very 2A friendly. Votes do matter, get registered. We also got a new Sheriff, very 2A friendly, until this pair were elected getting full carry was nearly impossible, now it's just a matter of sending a properly worded letter. Ass kissing is not required. :cool:

http://nyfirearms.com/forums/pistol-permits/2348-pistol-permit-information-county.html

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have to make one fix where it reports on the County if The County Town combo isn't found.

I used to make mobile apps and there was a site that kept people in the know for the average iOS app approval wait time and I thought that could be cool for pistol permits as well. I know there are a lot of factors so I take the last 18 months of data and use that to get an average so you can at least see how the wait time is trending with enough data. thanks for the positive feedback so far.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you for this it will help.