New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,

I'm a graduate student in Rensselaer County who's starting to get into shooting. I'm originally from southern NH, but I did my undergrad here at the same college, and will be living in NY for several more years as I finish my graduate degree. I have an apartment in the county, and the lease/utilities are in my name. My question is: is it legal for me to buy guns from an FFL in NY, with a NH driver's license?

Bonus question: can I buy an AR-15 stripped lower in NY?

· Registered
9,139 Posts
Q: From whom may an unlicensed person acquire a firearm under the GCA?
A person may only acquire a firearm within the person's own State, except that he or she may purchase or otherwise acquire a rifle or shotgun, in person, at a licensee's premises in any State, provided the sale complies with State laws applicable in the State of sale and the State where the purchaser resides. A person may borrow or rent a firearm in any State for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes.

[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(3) and (5), 922(b)(3), 27 CFR 478.29 and 478.30]

· Registered
278 Posts
Not good advice in my opinion. If he buys in NY from a licensed dealer, he can be sure (especially because he's just getting into shooting) that he's buying a NYS AWB compliant weapon. If he accidentally buys a $1200 non compliant rifle in NH... either he won't be able to use it here which is a waste of money, or he'll become an offender which is much worse.

Buy locally, and bring your phone bills and lease with you. You won't have a problem.

Keith

· Registered
2,130 Posts