New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm near the end of the 10 hour online course for the OSHA construction safety certification. It's a new thing applicants must do for my union, before we can even apply. It's soul crushingly boring.

Anyone in a trade where this is required? The only section that has actually applied to me is electricity. I'm already certified on aerial lifts and booms, will never work in a trench, and our scaffolding systems are mobile as opposed to connected to buildings.

I work as an electrician/lighting technician in the film industry.

·
Registered
8,557 Posts
I am an instructor for both the Generalindustry and the Construction courses, I know what you mean by boring. Does the Union require resert on the 10 hour after a number of years? I know the Army Safety School wouldn't accept my certs if they were over a year old and taught by anyone other than EKU. To me that is Fraud, Waste and Abuse since the instructor certs are good for 4 years. If you need to resert the 10 hour course are now available on line I think the cost is 85 bucks. All the construction companies on Fort Drum require the 10 hour Construction course before applying for a job with them.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I'm doing the online version, it's up to $89 now. As far as I know, everyone that is already a member of my union only has to attend a safety seminar once a year, but I don't believe I will be required to restart the OSHA 10 once passing.

I agree with what you said about fraud, waste and abuse. Why be redundant if a cert. is good for 4 years?

·
Registered
8,557 Posts