New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning on applying for a pistol permit here in the next month or so, but running into a little bit of a problem. I currently live in a county that is different from my mailing address. The biggest reason for not changing my mailing address is cost, it's far cheaper to stay listed in that county. The references won't be an issue, plus I do have connections in the court house. What i'm wondering is: What i am trying to do is it illegal and chances of being caught??? Hopefully I worded this question right, if not please ask and I will do my best to clarify.

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
im pretty sure thats illegal. wayne county gave me a hard time because my drivers license still shows a fulton address (changed in the system and i didnt wanna spend 10 bucks for a new card) i had to come up with my past 3 year tax returns and bills and bank statements and what not to prove i was a resident of wayne county

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well that is what I figured about it being illegal and thank you for a quick response. So what would be my best bet??? I highly doubt I'll even be able to get a permit living in Syracuse, which is why I wasn't even considering it. Mainly because I have connections in a different county and about 1500 more a year in insurance cost. If I suck up the money issue and over look my ties, what are the chances of obtaining one here in Syracuse??? Quick background about me: 25, male, CDL-A holder with hazmat endorsement, clean record (not even a speeding ticket). Personally I should be able to get a CCW if I'm trusted with hazmat, but I know that doesn't matter

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
Personally I should be able to get a CCW if I'm trusted with hazmat, but I know that doesn't matter
thats what you think, i know some cops, corrections officers and soldiers that are denied ccw's here in NY.