New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I am a NYC resident and have run into an annoying dilemma(which always seems to be the case when you mix firearms and NYC). So I live and work in NYC and own a house upstate in Putnam County. I have a NYC pistol premise permit and decided recently that I wanted to buy a shotgun and leave it year round at my home in Putnam. I did a little bit of research and saw there was no permit/license necessary to purchase long arms outside of NYC just needed to be 18 or 21 years of age. So I went online and purchased a Rem 870 from Gander Mountain at a great price and had it shipped to their store in Middletown, NY which is the closest to my upstate property. It arrived and I was told all I needed to bring was my drivers license so I got in my car and headed up. Got to the counter, told them I was there for a pickup and the clerk just asked to see my drivers license. He took one glance and said do you have your NYC rifle/shotgun permit? I responded no, this is going to be left on my property in Putnam county year round and never enter the confines of NYC. I explained that I have my pistol permit for NYC but didn't see how this was necessary being that the shotgun was never going to enter NYC. He asked to see my pistol permit and told me he was going to see what he could do and went off to speak with his manager. As soon as he started speaking the manager started shaking his head and muttered something along the lines of "absolutely not." He came back over to me and said they were not allowed to let me leave the store with the shotgun unless my drivers license had my Putnam address on it regardless of whether the gun was never going to enter NYC. He told me that I could go and have the DMV change my address and come right back with the sticker on my drivers license and he could let me leave with the gun. I then explained to him that if I went and changed my address my