New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here is my question. I was issued a NY CCW years ago when I was a resident of NY. I am now not a resident but still have the permit that is stamped "Good until revoked" Hmmm. Is this still legal? I know I probably should talk to a NY lawyer about this but anyone's experience here can help and maybe one of you can direct me to a source, either person or website, that will answer the question. If it matters, my mom still lives in the house of the address on my permit but I live out of state. I would like to have the ability to protect myself in NY when visiting my mom just as I do elsewhere legally.

Thanks for any help ahead of time.

·
Registered
4,720 Posts
The permits are valid for a resident of NY. Once you establish residency outside of NY (more than 51% of your time) then you are no longer a resident of NY. Your permit is not valid anymore.

That being said, I know people that moved out of NY, then moved back. Changed their NY address and then all was well.

I'd call a legal guy, heck, Sheldon Boyce (Gun Attorney) will be able to tell you.

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
did you obtain a drivers license in the new state? if you did then you surrendered your NY license and your primary residency and its quickly verifiable. You also have to notify the pistol clerk of your address change(some within 10 days) in a time frame which would then "revoke" your permit.

If there are any legal documents that point to another state residency then I would not carry or have pistol in NY whatsoever unless you are LEO and are federally protected throughout US. If you use your weapon in self defense and your life starts to get picked apart you are screwed.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4