New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I am new to Ontario county and firearms in general. I have never fired a gun but this is a sport I've wanted to get in to for the last decade. I just submitted the paperwork for a pistol permit today as well. I am on the lookout for a good shooting range in the Rochester/Canandaigua area. I am also looking for someone willing to give me some pointers and get me on the right track for good technique.

I am planning to purchase my first rifle in the spring and a pistol when I get my permit.

Any advice or help is appreciated!

Greg

· Registered
2,127 Posts
Welcome! Glad to have you here!

Any idea what discipline you are looking at getting into? You mentioned a rifle, so long range precision shooting? There are so many different shooting sports and some clubs focus more heavily on one or the other...
Good luck with your permit! When you get it, make sure you handle as many pistols as you can. Finding the right fit for your hand is key. If it feels good, you;ll like shooting it and shoot it more often. Take a class or two. One of the site sponsors might be a good place to start for some pistol training.
MDTS Training, LLC

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
At this point I'm not sure specifically what discipline I want to focus on. I only mentioned rifle because it seems like a good place to start for general practice and orientation into the world of shooting. I know I would like to get into pistol competitions once I have the permit. I would also like to give clays a shot. At this point everything looks fun so I want to try as much as I can.

· Registered
2,127 Posts