New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so im new to the ar platform, and am just getting into looking for my first rifle..im looking for something econimical but trustworthy. I will use it from targets to coyote hunting..need some suggestions..i know i can spend a ton of money that i dont have but also dont want something thats not reliable..any suggestions while i shop would be greatly appreciated..en im done saving ill be looking to spend betweem 7-850...what do you guys think...thanks in advance

·
Registered
12,953 Posts
I bought a NY compliant RRA in 5.56 new for about $800 (I think, lol). I know some guys here will flame RRA, but so far its been a great gun. Very accurate and reliable. I ran it hard on a class last year with no problems other than an intentionally induced FTF that resulted in a severe jam due to lack of proper lubrication on my part. No problems since. There's lot's of other things you can do in the $7-850 range, that is certainly respectable. At that price point, I'd concentrate on getting a good gun with iron sights and worry about optics later on.

·
Registered
12,953 Posts
Wow, I just looked on RRA website and I think prices have gone up (I bought through an FFL who sold it to me at his cost, so that might have had something to do with it). I got the A4 version shown here Rock River Arms: Mid-Length A2 / A4. Great gun. Current price is a little higher than your budget. Good luck.

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
i would recommend palmetto state armory, you can build a complete rifle for about 590.00. ive built 4 now and my friends have had quite a few with NO issues at all.

·
Premium Member
4,398 Posts
i would recommend palmetto state armory, you can build a complete rifle for about 590.00. ive built 4 now and my friends have had quite a few with NO issues at all.
$590 for the kit , less receiver maybe, and no sights. Their kit prices went up.

·
Registered
167 Posts