New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Pre-Ban Bushmaster V-Match Freefloated 20" H-BAR .223/5.56 that I purchased in 1993 before the ban. It has never been fired and has been a "safe queen" for close to twenty years. I'm thinking of selling it. Would appreciate any opinions of it's current value Thank you.

·
Premium Member
4,398 Posts
Lowers worth +/- $800/900 by itself
upper I'm not familiar with but I'd guess $500 by itself to the right buyer
rifle complete worth about 1100-1200 here.

·
Head Fapper
1,216 Posts
Looking for opinions on value, or trying to sell it by attempting to not break the rules here?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
" Looking for opinions on value, or trying to sell it by attempting to not break the rules here? "​

Looking for opinions on the value. I bought it in 1993 when I lived in upstate NY. I now reside in Oklahoma where the whole pre-ban thing means nothing. I will be visiting NY soon and was considering selling it while there. Not trying to break any rules here.

·
Premium Member
4,398 Posts
Thank you Dieter, I appreciate it.
no problem, but also be mindful if you come here on a trip, you cant just sell it to a private citizen in a FTF transaction. It would need to be sold to a dealer. Being it would have to be sold to a dealer (or through a dealer for a fee), you can expect to get 40-60% of the value I stated, at BEST. Expect incredible low balls.

My best advice, list it here online on the forum for sale...then ship it to NY to a FFL.

Its safer, no flying or driving with it, you have the piece of mind its going through a dealer/background check, and you will get the most $$$ for it.

Just my 02 cents....

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
because he's not a NYS resident, correct? (first cup of coffee)
Correct, only interstate sales are acceptable in NY. Buying a long gun from any other state requires (as stated above) an FFL transaction.