New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is part review, part request for advice...

So, I recently picked this up. Bought it slightly used. Everything I've shot up to this point is a single action. Started shooting this, with 2 boxes of ammo (100 rounds). Of the 2 boxes only about 40 shots hit the target at ~25 yards. With my S&W M&P9c (my normal carry gun) I can hit an 8.5" target 45 out of 50 times at 50 yards. I've been carrying the 9mm for about 3 years now, so I've got lots more practice with it.
Once I got more used to the USP, and realized I couldn't squeeze that slow, I got better, but everything was still hitting low. I started aiming about 6" high on the target, and I started hitting better, but still not great. With every pull, I seem to flinch a LOT. I don't think I flinch this much with my M&P
The trigger on the USP seems to pull forever. It gets heavier as it comes back, till it feels like I'm pulling a car with my finger.

How much of this is likely to be the switch to DAO? How much of this should I be blaming on the pistol (seriously)? What's the best way to help correct? Should I just sell the USP and put the money toward something new?

·
Registered
466 Posts
If you like the gun and want to improve the trigger a factory LEM trigger is the best way to go. You can find the parts on HKPARTS.NET. If you think you can handle the instal yourself their is a good write up on HKPRO.COM. If not have a local gunsmith change it out. It is not that difficult, I have done both my HK pistols. USPC and HK45. If you do not have a gunsmith you trust you can send your frame to Bill Springfield, he does good work, just tell him not to modify your mainspring.

The LEM trigger is usually around 4 - 5 lbs pull weight. (mine are 4) A lot of take up that is less than 1 lbs pull necessary to bring the hammer to the back of its travel. Reset is short and crisp.

·
Registered
89 Posts