New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so im looking to do a new AR build i have a few ars that i bought complete and this will be my 1st solo build. this gun will be spicifically for personal defense. my first qusetion is will a .22lr be sutalbe for those purposes and if i do go 22 will i be able to buy diffrent caliber uppers such as .223? my second question is since this is my first build i have some good leads on lowers and parts but how dificult will putting it together be if i have no experiance such as trigger springs and what not? as for the uppers im pretty good to go on that, i was in the military for 6 years and like i said i have a few AR's of my own. but ive never done a lower from scratch. if any one has any info or advise im all ears. thanks guys. cheers.

also wondering who in the WNY area is cool with FFL. i know gander will but johnsons was kind of a dick about it whan i asked. i dont want any problems and i would perfer to stay local incase i need help with gunsmithing down the line.

· Registered
1,038 Posts
Lowers are super easy.

I found a two part vid on youtube and watched it step by step. I have done a few now and really there isn't much too them, takes less than an hour taking your time.

You can slap any upper you want onto a complete lower.

· Registered
104 Posts
I use Johnson's. They're not great over the phone - I called them initially about shipping a complete lower and they jerked me around about illegal stocks and whatnot (yes, I know the laws, guys!). Made like they were going to blow me in if I had them shipped something with a collapsible stock. Very intimidating - and unnecessarily so.