New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to get my first firearm and I'm thinking I really want an assault rifle of some kind, semi-automatic :) I've been reading some of the information on this site about what's legal and illegal in NYS so I have a very basic idea of what I can and cannot get...

I would really appreciate some advice on how to find something that is good quality and somewhat simple to use safely as I have used a semi-auto rifle before but I am still new to this :)

·
Registered
687 Posts
Just some backgroung may help. What is your shooting experience and what type of guns have you shot in the past and what calibers? if this is your first shooting expereince or one of your first i would probably not recomment a semi auto assault rifle for a first purchase.

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
First, the term "assault rifle" is frowned upon. It's just a rifle. That term is something the anti-gun people use to demonize guns.

What are you going to do with it? Learn to shoot at long distances? Hunt? Target shoot at close to medium ranges?

·
Registered
8,339 Posts
A Saiga .223 is a good start in my opinion. Cost effective,reliable, simple and will eat any kind of ammo without a problem. Start shooting with the iron sights. Follow the firearm safety rules and just about any modern firearm can be used safely.

·
Head Fapper
1,216 Posts
A Ruger 10/22 is, in my opinion, the best option. Or even a S&W MP15-22. Keep ammo costs and maintenance low on your first gun, then get more complex as you go. .22 ammo can be had at Wal-Mart for stupidly cheap ($15-20 for 500rds).

·
Registered
687 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
Gottcha. I am sure I will catch flack but every time I go to the range the statement I am about to make is backed up by personal observation.