New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3,751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I shot my first real trap session and I am hooked.
This is a fun activity and sport.
I took my 870 with my 18" barrel and got 10.
I then bought 28" barrel the next day along with a padded vest, in the ear plugs and a case of ammo.
Can't wait to shoot again.
Anyone interested in Trap shooting you are more than welcome to
Open Trap League on Monday Nights at Allied Sportsmen Club
12846 Clinton St in Marilla. From 6pm till Dusk.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hey man. Great to hear you're getting into the sport. I started shooting Skeet when I was 12, then Trap, and then Sporting Clays and 5-Stand.
Get some buddies and make it a habit. try new games (skeet and sporting) Sporting is the most fun IMO. There are many different targets (rolling rabbits, flat and fast flying batteaus and teals.) really makes you a great shot. Trap and Skeet are too predictable for me.

·
Registered
3,751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well. the longer barrel seems to have been worth it. Shot an 18 and then a 19.
Still a hoot.

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Congrats! My advice is to watch for a sale on shells then buy in bulk!

·
Postmaster General
23,073 Posts
Is a standard "round" of Trap 25? If so then, yeah, that's what I shot last year. 18/25.

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
same thing happened to me, started off with a mossberg 500 now i have a 2000 dollar skb over under, wanna upgrade again. even when i dont shoot good its still a blast. all you old farts that shoot trap are a hoot lol

·
Registered
11,238 Posts
Trap is nice but wait until you try skeet or clays.

- Trap is like the driving range.
- Skeet is like the green.
- Sporting clays is like Robin Hood with a shotgun.

Stop by the Outlet in Penfield a Sunday morning/afternoon.
They call it sport. I say it is something between sport and group therapy for men. lol

·
Registered
3,751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·