New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got done registering for my permit class, which will be April 29th for all those keeping track at home. Who knows how long after that I actually get a permit. :(

Anywho I'm new to it all and can't wait to get started.

Anyone have any idea of wait times in Chaut. County?

TIMELINE
4/29/12 - NYS Pistol Permit Class
6/18/12 - *Scheduled* Appointment to Drop off Paperwork (called to schedule roughly 4/16, so that means about 8 week wait)

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So I called the Sheriff's office to see when it is appropriate to schedule my appointment to drop my paperwork, pay fees, and have everything else done. Well the helpful woman that I spoke with let me know that she is already scheduling appointments in June! The earliest date that she had was the 18th, so I took it.

So I take my class and then have to wait another 6ish weeks until I can even file my paperwork.

The only good thing is that I hope to get my permit around the time of my birthday in 2013, meaning that I will be getting a nice 35th birthday present!

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My class is Sunday, I'm looking quite forward to getting the process going. It is going to suck going to the class and then waiting till mid June to turn everything in. Think that the office would be annoyed if I called back and told them that I could/would take any appointment cancellations?

·
Registered
69 Posts
I took my class back on 1/29, had my appointment on 3/14 and was told wait is 6-8 months. Betty at the clerks office is real nice and said if I dont hear anything at the 6 month point to give her a call. So now I wait.

·
Registered
491 Posts
Congrats alexe.

I still can't believe what some of you guys have to go thru for a pistol permit.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·