New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im moving out of state (to MA). my question is what happens to my NYS permit. the police told me it sould only take 8 weeks tops to get a MA permit because im using my weapons mostly for work purposes. when i get my MA permit do i then contact NYS and tell them ive moved out of state and if so i was thinking of switching to a non resident permit at that time or will i lose my NYS permit totally? anyone have any experiance in this matter or know of what do do in this situation? help me out

·
I wish I were an Oscar Meyer Weiner
6,795 Posts
I have no experience but what some others have said and the law.
NYS does not have a "non-resident" permit. You must be a nys resident to APPLY for a permit. Some counties will tell you that you have to turn it in while others wont.

My advice is do not go to your county clerks office and tell them you are moving initially. Once you move you then have 10 days I believe to report your address change or else you are technically committing a misdemeanor by violating article 400. So before 10 days elapse call or mail your county clerk informing them of your change in address. If your lucky they will write it down and not ask for your permit back. If they say you have to turn it in then my suggestion would be to ask them to have the judge send you a letter ordering you to turn it in since NYS law does not say once you move out of state your permit is revoked and you would like the letter to contain the reason for revocation. So hopefully at that point the judge just wont bother since he will open himself up to being taken to court and you get to keep your permit. Worst case scenario he sends you a letter to turn in your permit and you can just mail it back to them. But that is atleast what I would do.

·
6,795 Posts
If you don't live in NY, you can NOT have a NY permit. Period, end of story.