New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be handing in my pistol permit tomorrow. Have to have my fourth and last refrence sign the permit application today then off to the county clerks office tomorrow! Then the wait begins......

Couple of questions:
I realize that some of these questions have already been answered in other threads but they were a couple of months old and not sure if that information is as up to date as it can be

How long is the wait period for Monroe County? (I am a non-city resident)
What are the odds of me getting the unrestricted permit I am applying for? (No past problems with the law and no psychiatrict issues that could possible put a damper on my application and all of my refrences do like me haha)
What kinds of questions does the investigating MCSO deputy ask you and your refrences?
Does MCSO always ask for more refrences than what is required on the application packet?

I put on my application reason for CCW permit is self defense of property and self along with target shooting/hunting

Thanks a bunch in advance!

·
I wish I were an Oscar Meyer Weiner
6,795 Posts
I would say wait time could be as short as 4 months to as long as 9 months.

Assuming your approved for your permit then you have 99% chance of getting unrestricted.

They ask general questions like if you took the free course they Sheriffs office offers, you have have any other firearms already, how do you handle stress and I think they ask others if you have a drinking problem are you a good person and do they think you should have a permit.

Also they will probably ask to talk to your wife or girlfriend or roommate and what not and thats it.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
52 Posts