New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so ive been shooting for about 17 years, i have been trained by the Marine corps CQB team and untill recently i could hit anything i aimed at, but lately im having a problem with my mechanics. do things like this just happen? how do you get over this hump, is it mental? the last few times ive gone to the range(1x with a 9mm and 1x with a revolver) ive been off. my breathing is undercontrol, my trigger squeez is on point my sight alignement is on like ive been doing for years but for some reason im shooting low and right. ive tried changing my grip and my stance but the same resault. im thinking maybe im closing one eye and tilting my head, sometimes i shoot with both eyes open. my grouping is very consistant with both guns im stumped ???? anyone have any advise or think they can diagnose my problem by what ive described. i know this is a shot in the dark as you cannot see what im doing wrong to help correct it but im basically just asking for advise so i can go to the range and try some new things out. Thanks Bryan

·
I wish I were an Oscar Meyer Weiner
6,795 Posts
Maybe your gripping to much. First try holding the pistol loose with your firing hand and use your support hand only to clamp done hard on the pistol. Make sure your thumb on your firing hand is loose and relaxed. If you notice it not relaxed then your tightening your firing hand. Try that and see if that helps. You could be increasing your grip power while pulling trigger.

If that doesnt help then test your trigger squeeze. add the tiniest amount of extra pressure at a time. I mean pretend like people tell you that all the time and your so annoyed that you over exagerate the slowness of pressue increase on trigger lol.

Also have you let anyone else shoot them to verify its not you?