New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about ready to hit the "checkout" button on one of these knives. Just wondering if anyone has had a chance to compare these in person, and what are your thoughts?

SOG Aegis Tanto Knife With Serrated Blade From SOG Specialty Knives & Tools
KAI USA : Kershaw Product Details

I have a couple of Kershaw knives, so I'm familiar with their construction and features. I expect the Blur would be of similar good quality and durable construction as others that I've used. I like the fact that it has an aluminum body that will make for a strong knife, and the tacky inlaid grips on the knife body for extra grip.

I have no experience with SOG knives, but from reviews that I've read they appear to be a quality knife. My number one criteria for a knife is that it's USA made. In the SOG line, the Trident, Flash II, and Aegis fit that bill. I also want a tanto partially serrated blade. Having said that, I'm leaning towards the Aegis because the handle has tacky rubber strips in the body for extra grip. My question about the SOG though is about the body which is made from glass reinforced nylon. I know glass reinforced plastics are strong, but does the plastic body flex at all if applying pressure, or is there an internal metal liner or something to provide additional strength (especially at the blade pivot)?
Thanks guys

·
Premium Member
1,508 Posts
Wacky,

I have been hands on and owned, at one time, both of these folders. They are both excellent and you can't really go wrong with either. The material the SOG is made of is very solid and that knife feels solid when in your hand, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Just my take,
Chris

·
Registered
4,139 Posts
Don't pay $110 for that Kershaw Tanto Blur. I paid $45 for mine; if I can find where I bought it from I'll post it up. Great knife by the way, I carry it all day / every day.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #5