New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We'll, I finally got everything set up and put 50 rounds through my new press. I'm new to reloading and picked up a Dillon square deal. It was very easy to get going with it! The factory settings were right on and pretty much all I had to do was verify and adjust the powder measure. The only issue I had was a couple primers didn't seat all the way. Probably because I didn't push hard enough and didn't want to push too hard ...

I'm loving another part of our sport now...

TK

·
Registered
3,454 Posts
What caliber are you reloading?

I notice different head stamps the primers will go right in while others I really have to crank down on. I'm sure if you reamed them all it would uniform them a little bit, but who has the time? lol Congrats!!

·
Registered
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I didn't ream the primer pockets. I have to pick up a reamer a BPS or something. I'm going to hold off on doing any more until I test fire these. I went with a powder load that was on the lower side.

It's 9mm. I'm using Power Pistol @ 5.2gr, CCI primers, 115gr coper plated round nose from RMR with a COL @ 1.150~

Does this his sound about right?

TK

·
Registered
14,522 Posts
thats awesome, I cant wait to start reloading myself... Since the law is going to cripple the amount of shooting I can do, I can at least enjoy this aspect of it as well.

·
Registered
9,902 Posts
Reloading is addicting when done correctly. The most fun you'll ever have getting frustrated.

·
Registered
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
After the initial fee for all the reloading equipment (which will last a lifetime), it makes shooting much more affordable.. It's also enjoyable to to do. At least for me..

TK

·
Registered
3,454 Posts