New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. So Ive never owned or operated a fire-arm before. But Its always been a goal of mine. Recently Ive been super interested in getting some practice in, and building a collection. Unfortunately, since this is now 3 years after the "SAFE ACT" passed, theres no way im getting an actual, true to heritage " AR-15". Ive checked this forum for awhile and Ive yet to get a definitive answer on whether or not a featureless AR-15 would really be better than a Mini 14 or a Saiga Sporter AK. It seems like we're jsut trying so hard to make the AR-15 happen. Im new to guns so I'd love to hear some opinions. Im planning on making my first purchase in a month. Ive been checking out DSI, and campsite for featureless AR options. So far im liking the spur grip + henry trigger guard for a lightweight rifle. Im not the biggest mini 14 fan but i think its pretty practical in home defense situaitons and DSI has some available. Also the saiga sporter AK seems pretty legit, and Ive heard they're well crafted and have quality parts. So to just wrap it up. Out of these 3 options , if you could only get one, and you intended to use it for home defense, and general range shooting. Would you still recommend a featureless AR-15 over a mini 14 , saiga?

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
I bought a mini 14 right after the unsafe act was rammed up our ass. I thought it was great but had limits as far as accuracy. I was more then happy with a 6" groups at 100yds. That's what I got it for. Being able to deliver center mass hits for defense.
Last summer I got a M&P15 featureless AR. Holy crap this thing will always out shoot me. 2" groups at 100yds and 4-6" groups at 200yds and these are with a red dot.
Now to me the Mini is just easier to use but after more use the AR will become 2nd nature to me. Oh and I now have another AR. They can breed on their own

·
Postmaster General
23,073 Posts