New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says, I'm a NY state resident. I have an AR15 at my mom's place in PA that has a bayo lug and M4 stock.

Considering selling it.

What to do? Shave the lug and swap the stock, bring it home and sell it in NY? Or sell it to a PA resident? And since I own it, but it's in PA, can I even sell it to a PA resident without bringing it here and shipping it to a PA FFL?

Sort of a unique situation... Seems like other than taking it apart, I'm walking a fine line.

Advice?

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a mutt. It's postban stuff. Receiver is definitely postban.

·
Formerly SRV1
4,720 Posts
As the title says, I'm a NY state resident. I have an AR15 at my mom's place in PA that has a bayo lug and M4 stock.

Considering selling it.

What to do? Shave the lug and swap the stock, bring it home and sell it in NY? Or sell it to a PA resident? And since I own it, but it's in PA, can I even sell it to a PA resident without bringing it here and shipping it to a PA FFL?

Sort of a unique situation... Seems like other than taking it apart, I'm walking a fine line.

Advice?
EASY solution to all of this. Sell it in PA. Do not even bother trying to bring it up here and sell it. This will be your fastest and easiest way to sell the rifle.

James

·
Registered
2,750 Posts

Considering selling it.

Advice?
My understanding of the law, which may be incorrect, is that you cannot sell it to a person who does not reside in NY without going through an FFL. I think the easiest path for you might be to sell it to a dealer in PA.

Relevant US Code

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Maybe I'll just have mom hand it to the guy instead of me, haha.

Actually I think I'll just bring it back here and put my RRA entry stock on it and shave the bayo. It's already not threaded.

·
Banned
1,261 Posts