New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to handguns and would like to buy a .44mag revolver for hunting deer, possibly bear, and shooting paper. A client of mine has a S&W Stealth Hunter 629 from their Performance Center and says thats the gun I should get. I love the way it looks and hope it feels good in the hand but am not sure its worth the price ($1300 on GunBroker).

I have also heard positive reviews of the Ruger Super Redhawk ($800+ on GB). I don't care for the shiny finish and overall look but I know looks comes second to performance.

Are their any other models should I consider? Opinions/comments appreciated!

· Registered
2,028 Posts
Before rifles were allowed in NY for hunting, my dad used to use his S&W 629. He has a bushnell holo sight on it. Very accurate and I like to shoot it. .44mag is a good caliber for deer.

Also... I have heard many good things about the Ruger Redhawk. Long barrel = good accuracy.

I will tell you this though, Rugers revovler are built like tanks. Very durable and thickened metal reinforcements where they should be. The S&W revovlers are great shooters, but they aren't built like Ruger revolvers.

· Registered
664 Posts
Check out the super blackhawk as evil said. I have been hunting with one for over 20 years. Single action keeps the focus on what your doing and control will be a big issue pulling the trigger on a double action when you get excited and the deer are moving. No problem if your disciplined and can keep focused, I was pretty young when I started handgun hunting and didn't trust myself. Now I just love the gun and feel no need for anything different. Though I wouldn't mind a S&W 500 some day just for the hell of it.