New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

I'm a resident in Saratoga county, pistol permit holder. Good friend of mine, his father isn't terribly long for this world. My friend, hasn't started getting his permit paperwork together (never been a big deal for him, he's more of a muzzle loader / long gun kinda guy).

He's got a lot going on, so getting his permit taken care of isn't going to really happen (pistol safety class and all). He asked me since I have my permit, should something happen, I hang on to his fathers the pistol for him.

So how do we work this? I want to help him out, my own family, we lost my grandfathers (merchant marine during ww2) M1 Garand, a 1911, and a pearl handled 32 or a 38 to the local police office after he died and my grandmother moved up here with the weapons in a random box on a moving truck. I don't want him to have to loose it to the sherrif/police office. After everything settles, he can get his permit taken care of and have it.

Suggestions? Thoughts, experiences on the matter? Is this already a sticky?

Thanks!

· Postmaster General
23,190 Posts
Will your county let you have a pistol on 2 permits? If so then do that. If not, like mine (except for immediate family) then I am not sure.

· Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh, further bit of info: His father is a permit holder, with the pistol on his license. So I'm pretty sure the sheriff's show up to hang onto it.

Darthgamer138: I don't know. I'll have to call the sheriff.

· Registered
869 Posts
I think I've read somewhere that if someone passes away the executor of the estate is able to transfer the pistol to a permit h
older within 7 days....

But best bet is to contact the permit office and ask what your options are

· Registered
2,913 Posts