New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Sorry, I'm pretty new to everything guns. I've been talking with some buddies who tell me it is near impossible to get a full carry in westchester county unless you are LE/retired LE or military. Just wondering how true this is/if you can get a full carry permit in westchester as a westchester county resident if you are a regular law abiding citizen.
Again, sorry if this is a dumb question or thread. Wondering how common these permits are

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
3,751 Posts
Only retired law enforcement. Military means nothing. There was a lawyer who sued because even he couldn't get one.

Move to the next County right above you if you want a full carry.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Can't speak to your question, but the only dumb question is literally the one not asked. Now ignorant questions on the other hand... at any rate from one newbie to another, welcome! :cool:

·
Registered
84 Posts
Regular - law abiding citizen...yes it can happen, got mine a couple years ago. Not LE, not military.

·
Registered
14,522 Posts
Johnnymo got lucky, he is the exception, not the rule. There is 1 pro2a judge in westchester that may sign off on it, but there is no guarantee you would get him. The rest of them are anti gun democrats. Most people do not get unrestricted carry.

·
Registered
1,153 Posts
Good luck getting a full carry in westchester. Just know that if I ever stop you (for traffic) I won't give a crap about anything pistol related unless you're pointing it at me lol... (That may be hyperbole but you get the idea).

I've come across numerous drivers holding pistol permits and the only time I asked about it was a guy I had to unfortunately impound his car....and I only asked if he had it with him. (He was technically arrested and released with an appearance ticket).

·
Registered
84 Posts
That's the key...A couple years ago.