New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Banned
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am a security guard on long island and also do vip bodyguarding for the firm i work for can i have a extendable baton???

·
Postmaster General
23,073 Posts
Asps are illegal in NY. Unless there is some security guard provision, then no.

·
Registered
5,053 Posts
I always get worried when someone that is LICENSED asks us if he/she can do something in the scope of THEIR duties.
(rant over).

·
Banned
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thir are no laws and or code in ny law that is directd spicificly for security gards but i have seen gards with them b 4

·
Registered
164 Posts
i am a peace officer in niagara county there are police baton certs you can get, just like the hand cuff cert. which will allow you to carry a baton as for the extendable ones you can buy them from some companys with credentials. (weather or not your client will let you carry thats a whole diffrent story) and you will be liabale if you use one, remember as a security guard you have no more or less authrity as a everyday citizen. if you hurt someone while on duty self defence will most likely not hold up in court certification or not. ive seen guys get jammed up on this a thousand times. its best not to do it but thats my opinion. good luck

*sorry for the spelling lol

·
Registered
5,413 Posts
Are extendable batons illegal in NY? I never was able to find a law about them was wondering if anyone else could so I could read it.

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
§ 265.01 Criminal possession of a weapon in the fourth degree. A person is guilty of criminal possession of a weapon in the fourth degree when: