New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
An aquantinance at work has had his pistol permit for 20 years and it is unresricted and he currently lives in Greene county. He wants to get another pistiol but is worried about the background check for the admendment. 5 years ago he was convicted of a misdemeanor DWI in NY. He says that his permit probably should have been suspended but might have fallen through the cracks at the time. I think he is overly paronoid about it being suspended now, but this is NY and i'm no lawyer. There was no accident involved , actually he was pulled over on the shoulder when the cops happened to pass by, but he had his wife and kids in the car and thats why they didn't reduce the charges very much. He knows he screwd up big time, totaly out of character of him as far as I can see and is very thankfull that nobody was hurt because of his stupidity and vows never to put himself in that situaition again. So can they suspended his licence after all this time or is he being overly paroinoid ?

·
Registered
774 Posts
They don't always pull your permit for a DWI. I know someone that got a DWI and did not lose his permit. I would just got buy the gun and add it to his permit. The county clerk does not run a back ground check on you to add a gun to your permit.

·
Postmaster General
23,073 Posts
He has a BGC for an amendment?

·
Registered
9,902 Posts
Contact thee a lawyer.

·
Registered
4,835 Posts
I've never heard of a background check for an amendment to be added. Only a NICS from the selling dealer at time of transfer. The NICS isn't even run until after the amendment is added anyway.

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
None of you guys have ever heard of the Brady check done every 5 years?

·
Registered
247 Posts