New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking of spending some money on a plate carrier and some other soft goods, and am not sure what camo pattern I want to go with. What patterns do you guys prefer? I'm mostly wondering about Multicam vs. ATACS FG. Anyone with any experience please chime in.

Heres some other camos...
-Olive Drab
-Coyote
-Woodland
-ACU
-Multicam
-MARPAT
-Tigerstripe
-ATACS
-ATACS FG
-Realtree Hardwood
-Mossy Oak Breakup

·
Registered
354 Posts
seeing as nobody else wants to comment i will. let me start by saying i am no expert but this is based on my limited experience or tests i have read about/seen.

you say you are in the market for a plate carrie and other soft goods: what would the intended use of these be? duty/patrol? SHTF? training/range practice?

if they will be for training or practice only then get whatever you can cheap (with exception of the plate carrier and plates), if you plan on using the gear in situations where your life could depend on it buy good stuff and really think of where you will primarily be using the gear.

i will help you scratch one off that is useless and that is the acu, i would also be weary of multicam (yea it's cool but it seems to be more intended for use in desert type environments not NY)
what i try to stick with are neutral camo base colors (green, brown, black, tan). for example coyote brown could be obscured with brush from the environment and work in forest type environments here in ny but in the fall when all the green is gone it isn't useless and can still work to a degree.

So before i type a bunch of useless info what are you getting the gear for? work or play? also what companies have you looked at for the gear? (different companies usually have slightly different colors but use the same names across the board)

·
Registered
14,522 Posts