New York Firearms Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have bought some HSM 7mm 168gr VLD and have good results with them so far. grouping at 100 is 1/2" some groups smaller. at 550 i am consistently hitting my 10" X 10" Steel. i have yet to put it on paper at that range. I was curious if any one is reloading the VLD bullets and what success they are having loading them.

·
Registered
11,238 Posts
I have been using Berger bullets for many years. They are very good quality and consistent. The only thing with VLDs is that they are a tad jump sensitive but Berger is coming out with new offerings of hybrid design. The design it is between secant and tanget type of ogive that makes them less sensitive to seating depts and the jump while providing amazing ballistic coeficients. If you look at the lapua scenar you will see many similiarities with the secant. Whatever they are they are always good quality stuff. Berger and lapua are hard to beat in terms of consistency.
I also have great results with some of the Amax in 5.56, 6, 6.5, 308 and 338 bores.

·
Registered
549 Posts
I have used several of the Berger VLD's in 30cal and 338cal I find that with the 338 300gr. the old gen 1 bullets were as meketrefe said jump sensitive. But once you find that sweet spot they shoot great. Also noticed that the berger bullets seem to shoot better at or beyond 300 yards. I think it has something to do with them being so long takes longer for them to go to sleep ant stableize. just got in some 338 OTM bergers havent had a chance to shoot them yet but will pass along how it goes. Good luck.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i had decent groups at 100yds for my zero but groups did stay very nice at longer ranges. I did notice one nice difference between them and the federal fusions i shot on occassion. At 550yds my come on my turret is 9 MOA and that is what the fusions were at 440yds. they do cut the air well.

·
Registered
218 Posts