New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
5,168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Winchester Model 70 .30-06 that has been used pretty hard over the years. I want to make some modifications, and I'd like to do them myself to save money since the gun isn't exactly worth anything anyway. I've been watching videos covering barrel cutting and I have to say that it looks fairly easy. Am I wrong here? If I am I want to hear it.

My eventual plans are to shorten the barrel, give it a synthetic stock, new trigger and possibly a detachable magazine modification.

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
You have access to a lathe, and basic machining knowledge?

Kudos if you do, that's how I make my living.

I ask, because the crown is pretty important.

·
Registered
11,238 Posts
I have a Winchester Model 70 .30-06 that has been used pretty hard over the years. I want to make some modifications, and I'd like to do them myself to save money since the gun isn't exactly worth anything anyway. I've been watching videos covering barrel cutting and I have to say that it looks fairly easy. Am I wrong here? If I am I want to hear it.

My eventual plans are to shorten the barrel, give it a synthetic stock, new trigger and possibly a detachable magazine modification.
You do not need a lathe for cutting the barrel but you do need a tool to face the crown. A straight clean cut with a saw and crowning
is a must if you want to preserve accuracy. Otherwise accuracy will suffer.
There are tools that work with an electric drill. These tools have a pilot that goes into the bore to make the crowning cut perfect.
Then a bit of lapping with a brass nipple or any other brass material one can find and that is done.

·
Registered
5,168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
11,238 Posts
This video from Midway made it look pretty simple. I don't even see the need for the dovetail tool he uses.

How to Shorten and recrown a rifle barrel with hand tools « Firearms