New York Firearms Forum banner

Are you involved in competitive/organized shooting?

• YES

Votes: 22 61.1%
  • NO

Votes: 14 38.9%
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
2,081 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many people on this forum are involved with competitive/organized shooting events? I find it kind of odd that this is a New York firearms forum, but yet it seems that a lot of people on here aren't involved in competitive/organized shooting. I only ask this because the competitive shooting forum is like a ghost town. I would figure by now that it would be a busy forum with all the matches going on in the summertime.

I personally shoot IPSC/USPSA & this past weekend I was involved in a 3-Gun match. I have been shooting for 2 years in IPSC & I love it! I am no expert by any means, but I am still picking up tips to make me a better shooter and my scores & shot placement reflect that.

I can't stress enough how important it is for gun owners to KNOW HOW TO USE YOUR FIREARM! Especially CCW permit holders! Get involved in USPSA, IPSC, IDPA! Take some defensive pistol/rifle/shotgun classes! The last thing you want is to not know how to use/manipulate your firearm in a stressful enviroment!

There are 2 types of gun owners--the one that owns a gun & the one that knows how to use a gun. Which one do you want to be?

·
Super Moderator
3,234 Posts
I run and shoot a steel falling plate event weekly during the winter (Dec.-Apr.) for .22LR pistol at our club. I am currently running and shooting a defensive pistol event every two weeks at our club. I also shoot the occasional tactical carbine match. Used to shoot bullseye but the interest in this has waned around here so I don't participate any more.

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
I try to attend RPD's Tuesday night CCW shoots at GCL. I've been doing a bad job lately, but still get in live fire practice at least once a week. I agree shooting is a perishable skill that needs to be frequently refreshed.