New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Banned
2,081 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to make something clear before I explain my question. I have total respect & appreciation for the police. I have family & friends in the profession & have also done ride alongs (which I recommend to ANYONE who ever questions what these cops go through on a daily basis, it will open your eyes). This is not meant to disrespect anyone that is a LEO.

Are the Police really trained on how to use their firearm? I personally think a large majority (at least 80%) really aren't properly trained on the use of their firearm. I have been shooting IPSC for a little over 2 years now and I have shot with several law enforcement officers that have come to the matches & weekly shoots. I am amazed at how many officers have a problem reloading on the move and also their shot placement. I think that the public has a very large misconception on an officers actual ability to use their firearm effectively. I am not saying I am some expert top shot, but I can definitely shoot/reload/aquire my target faster than any of the officers I have shot with. My scoring is usually in the middle to the lower middle of the pack. When the officers come shoot, they think that these stages we have are awesome and that they wish they had these types of shooting scenarios to practice.

Why is this? Shouldn't the LEO's be practicing once a month with different types of scenarios? Can some LEO's on this board help answer this?

To be honest, I find it disturbing (especially in todays world with terrorist threats) that our LEO's aren't having mandatory weekly/monthly training with their firearms. Am I wrong on this? Am I being too critical? Do any LEO's agree with this statement?

G

·
Dwindling tax revenues and rising costs have put most jurisdictions in financial crisis. This has resulted in an across the board reduction in services and layoffs among civil servants.