New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a novice when it comes to the technical aspects of guns, and this is my first post, so I apologize if this has been answered or if I'm really confused about all this. I'm in the learning phase.

I'm looking at a used AR15, but I'm faced with the threaded-barrel issue too.
The majority of discussions I find are about permanently attaching a muzzle brake to the threads, but what are the options for non-threaded barrels? Is this something that is just not made? Seems like having no threads would be the easiest way to avoid a felony lol. When I look at a muzzle brake piece, I don't see why you just can't have those holes at the end of the barrel to start with. Why do you have to thread them on later with an attachment? What mechanical aspects of gun-making am I not aware of in this scenario? I'm sure a lot lol.

Can anyone offer me additional info about this topic or point me in the direction of the info? Researching is tough when you are new and are not sure exactly what you are looking for to read up on.

Thanks. I appreciate your time.

As a side note, I find it amusing that so long as I fix the threaded-barrel issue and remove the pistol grip, it's cool to have a grenade launcher on it haha. NYS sure is a weird place.

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
You can find barrels with a target crown.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Jeff.

Are there any drawbacks to using these versus the threaded? Cost is a factor here. I don't want junk, but I can't afford top-of-the-line either.

·
Premium Member
10,553 Posts
Thanks, Jeff.

Are there any drawbacks to using these versus the threaded? Cost is a factor here. I don't want junk, but I can't afford top-of-the-line either.
Only difference is you won't have a brake/compensator. Whether that really matters is a lot of opinion and depends on your use. For target shooting I don't think it matters at all.

·