New York Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any suggestions for a good, in-expensive .22 youth rifle? They are aged 6-14. My girls are coming out from Idaho to stay with me for a while in a couple weeks. I'd like to take them to the range. Maybe start a summer tradition at the range with dad. I can remember shooting with my dad when I was a kid and I loved it. I don't think 6 is too young to start. Hell, I was that age when I started shooting my dad's .22 handguns!

·
Registered
12,953 Posts
I had my 6 y/o shoulder a few different youth .22s and most were still to big for him (and he's taller than average). The Cricket (sp?) fit good but I didn't buy it. I think it was single shot and about $100. I personally agree with you on age, but note I believe NYS law is 12 for rifle and 14 for pistol. Just bringing this up because it may matter depending on where you shoot. Good luck.

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had my 6 y/o shoulder a few different youth .22s and most were still to big for him (and he's taller than average). The Cricket (sp?) fit good but I didn't buy it. I think it was single shot and about $100. I personally agree with you on age, but note I believe NYS law is 12 for rifle and 14 for pistol. Just bringing this up because it may matter depending on where you shoot. Good luck.
Wow. I didn't know there was an age restriction as long as a parent was present. I'll have to check on that. Thanks.

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
I found what you are talking about on the NRA-ILA website. It looks like I'll only be able to take my 14 year old shooting. Everyday I find more things that convince me to move back to Idaho. That age restriction does not apply in Idaho. I guess I better start looking for jobs back there. I'm totally bummed now. This state just sucks.

Check out 2nd post in this thread Youths in Pistol League