Thread: Residency requirement for application of pistol/unrestricted carry license

Private

Default Residency requirement for application of pistol/unrestricted carry license

Newbie here.

I will be moving to one of the towns outside or on the edge of Rochester from the state of Utah for college.

I hold a Utah resident CHL with Florida CCW license pending (49 days and counting).

I have NRA Basic Pistol certification after the course taken last May.

I know Monroe County government requires that I must reside in the county for at least six months prior to applying for a pistol possession permit, wait a while and then apply for "unrestricted" carry license.

I will probably keep Utah driver license until it's close to expiration date (my birthday) later this year, then go to DMV to change to 'enhanced' NYS driver's license. Unless there is a state law that requires me to exchange driver license after 30 days. I will have documentation that I paid rent with a dated receipt starting August along with a college ID.

Would it help facilitate the application process for pistol permit by obtaining the certificate of residence after meeting the time frame of residency establishment? Is there a state law or county ordinance that specifies the recognition of residency or was it an unwritten rule?

I understand applying for unrestricted (or target shooting/hunting) carry license will require that I have at least 4 references who has known me in the county plus 3 references from a former home state for an applicant with less than 3 years residence. Does this apply to pistol possession applicant or are the rules slightly different with fewer references, in-county or out of state?