New York Firearms Forum banner

"lumens" number, what's a nice bright number?

4K views 25 replies 19 participants last post by  SomeSoldier 
#1 ·
Hey doods, I'm a light nOOb. need some advice.

what's a good lumens brightness number? I have no clue. FWIW, this is a light for utility/tactical usage, not for attachment to any firearm. I like the stuff Elzetta has, but have no idea what's nice and bright.

I already have some nice mag-lights for less threatening/urgent situations.

thanks in advance!!!! :cool:

#2 ·
I have a 270 lumen that I carry every day that's pretty fahking bright, especially if your eyes are adjusted to the darkness already. The nice thing is it has a few different settings so you can bring that power all the way down to I believe 10 lumens, which is perfect for finding your way down the stairs with the lights off and such.

#5 ·
Gander had 3 different lights set up of various illumination you could try, I forgot what the were but I think the lowest was around 100 and the highest was around 200, in the store light, I really couldn't tell all that much difference, I'm sure at night it would be a lot more noticeable. FWIW they were all pretty bright.

#7 ·
I have a Fenix PD30 that I carry on my person all the time. It has intensity settings for 9, 70, 117, or 220 lumens. It is by far the most useful flashlight that I've ever owned. It's the second most used piece of EDC gear that I carry. The only item I use more is my pocketknife.

#8 · (Edited)
FWIW:
Cop car spotlight, around 800 lumens
Car headlight around 400 lumens on high beam
Surefire X300 weapon light, 110 lumens
Older models and some new ones, 60 lumens with optional replacement reflector & bulb to push up to 120 lumens
Maglite 3D cell handheld, 76 lumens
4D cell 122 lumens

Candlepower has some bearing on brightness too, but I dunno the maths to tie the two together.